Christian Bilien’s Oracle performance and tuning blog

August 26, 2010

This blog is inactive (at least for the time being)

Filed under: Uncategorized — christianbilien @ 7:53 pm

It’s been more than 2 years and a half since I last blogged on Oracle performance. I had the feeling I could not carry on this extra time activity when I started managing a 20 people DBA team and 4 technologies (including 2  Oracle competitors- Microsoft and Sybase which has ASE and IQ). It would have been difficult in the first place not to be labeled Oracle-biased by Oracle competitors if I did. I also moved from in-depth troubleshooting, which provided me material to write, to architecture design. This is more on assessing business requirements and translating them into technologies, with an emphasis on scalability and Business Continuity . Although ideas could still have been shared, perhaps towards a different audience, I decided it was time to stop, at least while I was holding this position. I left the blog online though and it still attracts 3000 hits a month as of August 2010, something that slightly worries me as the material will invariably become obsolete. If you read those lines, please note  I was working on 10.2.0.4 or on older 10g releases.

TrackBack URI

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.